top of page

Nie Young Artist

Scholarship Competition 

Competition Forms

In honor of Kuan-Yao Lam Nie and James K. Nie, Turtle Creek Chamber Orchestra offers funds, mentorship, and a chance to play with TCCO during their summer concert season. Any student of string or piano who is from 5 to 18 years of age may enter. Scholarships are awarded in four categories: Beginners - $150 Winner/$75 Honorable Mention, Intermediate - $300 Winner/$150 Honorable Mention, Advanced - $500 Winner/$250 Honorable Mention, and Pre-collegiate - $700 Winner/$350 Honorable Mention.​

PayPal ButtonPayPal Button

How to Apply

2024 Nie Young Artists Competition Auditions


Saturday, January 20, 2024  9:00 AM

Hendricks Center for Performing Arts, Beloit, WI  

Open to all String and Piano students aged 5 to 18 years of age.  Winners will present their pieces in performance on the Winners' Concert February 4, 2024 in Beloit.


Registration forms must be postmarked by Friday, January 06, 2024

Please note:  There have been some changes to repertoire requirements.  Please see the repertoire lists located below.

2024 Forms

2022 Scholarship Winners

Robert Remus, Piano
Pre-Collegiate Winner
Wolfgang Vergara, Piano
Advanced Winner
Sarah Men, Piano
Intermediate Honorable Mention

Eleanor Cunningham, Piano
Elementary Winner - Joint

Jason Lee, Piano
Intermediate Winner

Aaron Johnson, Piano
Advanced Honorable Mention

Lydie Weaver, Strings
Pre-Collegiate Honorable Mention

Nolan Boerner, Strings
Pre-collegiate Winner

Alex Cooper, Piano
Elementary Winner - Joint

Ellie Kaszycki, Strings
Pre-collegiate Honorable Mention
Isabelle Olson, Strings
Elementary Winner

2021 Scholarship Winners

Vincent Garcia-Hettinger, Strings
Advanced Collegiate Winner
Lydia Weaver, Strings
Advanced Collegiate 2nd Place
James T. White, Strings
Intermediate 2nd Place
Sam Steurer, Strings
Elementary Winner
Elena Steurer, Strings
Intermediate Winner
Eric Funk, Strings
Advanced Collegiate 3rd Place
Noirin Dempsey, Piano
Intermediate Winner
Aaron Johnson, Piano
Advanced 2nd Place
Liam Jeninga, Piano
Advanced Winner
Jacqueline Chen, Piano
Intermediate 2nd Place
Helena Rozinsky, Piano
Elementary Winner
Cory Pontenberg, Piano
Tie - Elementary 2nd Place
Brayden Pontenberg, Piano
Tie - Elementary 2nd Place

2020 Scholarship Winners

Ben Davies-Hudson, Winner
Concerto Division
Monona Suzuki, Honorable Mention
Concerto Division
Dexter Mott, Honorable Mention
Concerto Division
Elizabeth Kaszycki, Winner
Advanced Strings
Lorenz Fradin-Annen, Winner
Intermediate Strings
Stephanie Hodges, Winner
Elementary Strings
Zach Brumbaugh, Honorable Mention
Advanced Piano
Aleyna Yaylaci, Winner
Intermediate Piano
bottom of page